The Governing Body at Saint Thomas More

The headteacher is responsible for the day to day management of the school. The governing body works with him, as a critical friend, to provide strategy and vision, to offer challenge and support and to ensure accountability within the Catholic Ethos of our school. All governors volunteer their time willingly and bring a variety of skills to the governing body. Each governor sits on the full governing body and at least one sub-committee. Governors visit the school from time to time to monitor provision; they aso support school and parish events.

The full governing body meets at least once a term (usually during the second half term), with subcommittee meetings once a term (usually during the first half term).

Saint Thomas More Governing Body reconstituted in autumn 2017 with 12 members.

The current composition:

Chair: Mrs Amanda Kelly (foundation). The chair can be contacted on or via the school office.

Vice Chair: Rev Fr Stephen Day (foundation)

Staff Governor: Mrs Claire Sandy

Headteacher: Mr Morgan Williams

Local Authority Governor: Mr Hitesh Mehta

Parent Governors: Mrs Dal Youssef, Mrs Catherine Thomas

Other Foundation Governors: Mr Declan Webb, Mr Iain Watson, Mrs Julie Hill (parent), Mrs Cecelia Grant (parent), Mr Colum Davis.

Sub Committee responsibilities include:

Standards and Provision – monitor SATS and assessment, target setting, quality of teaching, attendance and exclusions, extra curricular activities, admissions numbers, school self evaluation, Pupil Premium, SEN.

Resource management – monitor budgets, human resources, premises and environment, health and safety.

Governors can be contacted via school, tel: 024 7684 9910 or by the school e-mail.

More information about the governors

For more information please click any of the links below:

Meet the governors

Statutory governance information

The role of committees

Translate »